Add new button showing when it shouldn't

Users do not have the permission to create a new record, but the Add new button is still accessible. 

 

Reasons:

  • The Add new button will always appear for admins, to see the change you need to preview as a user
  • Create permissions is still enabled
  • User Roles needs to be updated

Example:

When previewing as an end user, the Add new button shows on the page. In this situation, we don't want them to have the ability to create a new "Position".  

CleanShot_2022-12-13_at_15.49.16_2x.png

 

Checking Permissions

  1. Select the table in  Manage fields and data
  2. Select Permissions
  3. Add a new permission or edit an existing one
  4. Decide which Users this will effect under Permission Sharing, select Some Users
  5. Remove the ability to Create by unchecking the box at the top of the table 

CleanShot_2022-12-02_at_11.18.14_2x.png

CleanShot_2022-12-02_at_11.13.06_2x.png

Checking Roles

  1. Go to  App Settings
  2. Select Roles
  3. Choose the role that should not be able to create new records
  4. Uncheck the setting “Read/Modify all data
  5. The role will appear for you to apply permissions on

CleanShot_2022-12-02_at_11.29.59_2x.png

 

Related articles

Related record widget not showing option Unable to toggle on linked fields

There was an error saving your record

Change the title on the detail page