Adding workspace collaborators to your app

Stacker allows you to share your apps seamlessly with workspace collaborators, meaning you can give access to your colleagues as well as teams from across your organisation.

You can add workspace collaborators to your app(s) as users or you can grant them admin rights if appropriate.

Add a workspace collaborator as an app user

When you first create a new app, you are asked if you would like to share it with all users in your workspace or keep it private for now.

If you choose to share it with all users in your workspace, then all workspace collaborators will automatically be granted access with the default User Role. If you are using Custom Roles then you can change the Role given to your collaborators when in the Users modal by changing the value in the dropdown.

If you opted to initially keep your app private, then you can grant access to your workspace collaborators either all together or individually by clicking on 'Select user or enter email address' to open the dropdown.

You can remove a workspace collaborator from your app by pressing on the '...' next to their name in the Users modal and selecting 'Remove from app'.

Note: You will be unable to add workspace collaborators to your app if you have connected a user table. If you have already added workspace collaborators to your app and then connect a user table, they will either be added as a new record to the table (if connecting on manual mode) or their access will be removed (if connecting on automatic mode) and you will need to add them as a new record to the table in your data source yourself to grant access again.

Add a workspace collaborator as an app admin

You can grant admin access for an app to a workspace collaborator to enable them to configure the app's settings and layouts. Admin access also enables a collaborator to see and edit all data in your app - you cannot apply permissions to them.

  1. To add an admin to your app, open the Users modal and click on 'Administrators'.
  2. You can then click on 'Select user or enter email address' to expand the dropdown.
  3. If you have already added the collaborator to your workspace, you can select them from the list to confer admin access.
  4. If they are not already a workspace collaborator, you can enter their email address to add them as an admin. This will also add them as a workspace collaborator.

You can remove admin access from a workspace collaborator for your app by pressing on the '...' next to their name in the Administrators section and selecting 'Remove from app'.

Next Steps